jokisenja header

jokisenja header

Friday, April 29, 2011


Katsuaki Fujiwara lived up to his name as a world level rider taking control of the first qualifying practice for the 2011 PETRONAS Asia Road Racing Championship (ARRC) season at the Sepang International Circuit today.

Even more impressive, the Japanese rider recorded his fastest time just after two laps into the qualifying session with 1:06.811s while Chalermpol Polamai (Yamaha Thailand Racing) came in second fastest with 1:07.286s followed by Australian rider, Michael Edward Jones (PETRONAS Syntium Moto Yamaha Raceline) third 1:07.410s.

Commenting on his first outing at the Sepang North Track and his results, Fujiwara of MANUAL-TECH BEET KAWASAKI RACING said, "This is my first time racing in Sepang and I'm really enjoying it so far. The track is wide and it gives riders a lot of options for race line and also every corner is different. As for the results, I am happy with the position but not my lap time because initially I wanted to break the lap record."

With a strong start, Fujiwara is confident for tomorrow's qualifying where he aims to break the lap record set by fellow country-man and fourth fastest for today, Toshiyuki Hamaguchi (Moto-Rev India) at 1:06.657s in 2008.

Fifth fastest was Chalermpol's teammate and defending Champion, Decha Kraisat followed by Fujiwara's teammate from Indonesia M.Fadli sixth. Seventh and eighth came in Mohd Zamri Baba (PETRONAS Syntium Moto Yamaha Malaysia) and Doni Tata Pradita (Yamaha Indonesia Racing Team). Completing the top ten would be brother in arms, Ahmad Fuad Baharudin and Ahmad Zamani Baharudin of Bike A.R.T Racing

The remaining 20 spots saw Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah come in 11th fastest followed by Christopher Quinn (Yamaha Yamalube ASH TJM KYT), Maico Greg T Buncio (Team Suzuki Pilipinas), M.Dwi Satria, Ahmad Nashrul Baharudin, Yoshitaka Miyajima, Mohd Iskandar Raduan, Krishnan Rajini, Gautam Mayilvaganan and Mohd Hafieenaz Mohd Ali.

Meanwhile, all thee Boon Siew Honda Racing Malaysia riders, Azlan Shah Kamaruzaman, Mohd Suhadi Ali Rahmat and Mohd Emir Firdaus Hasan were disqualified.

Issued by Global PR Sdn Bhd
Copyright to Two Wheels Motor Racing Sdn Bhd

No comments:

Post a Comment