jokisenja header

jokisenja header

Sunday, December 5, 2010


Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah was crowned as the youngest CP130 Champion after chalking up his fourth win of the season in the final leg of the PETRONAS AAM Malaysian Cub Prix Championship that is being held at Padang Kota Lama, Penang today.

16-year old Hafizh erased the record set by Norizman Ismail in 2005 when Norizman secured the Expert title at 20 year-old and 7 months. Besides that, Hafizh also holds the back-to-back Champion record of winning the Novice category (rebranded to CP115 this year) in 2009 and went on to take home the CP130 title this season.

The PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha Raceline's Hafizh was oozing with confidence after dominating the weekend with positive results in the timed practice session and heat, went to put on a perfect outing to end the season with a bang. He finished the 15-lap race in a total time of 12:03.848s, 2.962 seconds ahead of Mohd Zamri Baba and 3.811 seconds in front of Norizman.

Both Zamri (PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha AHM) and Norizman representing Harian Metro SCK Honda Racing had to settle for second and third placing with 12:06.810s and 12:07.659s respectively.

Hafizh who is on cloud nine went to thank everyone that has contributed to his successful outing. "I would like to extend my gratitude to the entire Raceline team, PETRONAS and other sponsors, my father, my physically trainer, family members and friends. Thank you very much for all the support," said Hafizh who hails from Selangor.

Asking him to comment on the final race just now, he said, "It was a very competitive race especially at the early stage whereby I was tussling with Norizman. I overtook him in Lap 2 and only in Lap 3, I managed to break away from Norizman as at that time, Zamri also managed to overtake Norizman. After that, I remained focus until I crossed the finish line."

With the win, Hafizh seals the title with 169 points, only 7 points ahead of second place, Norizman who has accumulated 162 points. Meanwhile, Ahmad Fazli Sham (Shell Advance Yamaha Maju) who finished the race in fourth placing ended the season third overall in the standings with 158 points.

In the CP130 Team Awards, PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha Raceline won the title with 271 points. Second is PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha AHM with 247 points while third place goes to Harian Metro SCK Honda Racing with 219 points.

In for the CP115 category, Mohd Ramdan Mohd Rosli ended the season perfectly by securing the CP115 title on a triumphant note. Not only that, but he set a new Cub Prix record to be the youngest Champion at age 14 whereby he erased the record set by Hafizh Syahrin Abdullah (15 year-old) last year.

Ramdan, the PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha AHM rider put up a commanding performance to cross the finish line first in a total time of 9:50.633s, 2.701 seconds ahead of his closest rival, Mohd Rozaiman Mohd Said (Motul Yamaha YY Pang) who has to settle for second place with the time of 9:53.973s. Meanwhile, Mohd Rozaliman Zakaria of ZAR & HTM Motorsports Racing came in third with 9:59.973s.

He said, "My target for today's race is only a top-5 but when I was out on the track, I really want to win the race. I tried to take the lead and I am glad it was a successful outing. I am glad I went for it and next year, I will be moving on to the premier class CP130."

With the win, Ramdan concluded the season with 187 points, followed by Rozaiman with 160 points and third is Mohd Iskandar Raduan (PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha Raceline) with 129 points.

In the Team Award, PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha AHM secured the title with a total point of 285 while PETRONAS Sprinta Yamaha Raceline and Motul Yamaha YY Pang came in second and third with 200 and 188 points respectively.

Since the 2010 Wira title has been secured by Mohd Adib Rosley of Motul Yamaha YY Pang in the previous leg at Sepang, the battle in Penang saw the riders contesting for the second best. It was Adib's teammate, Mohd Azhar Abdul Jalil who won race and went on the secure the second overall position in the standings. Azhar's main contender, Mohd Syawalludin Mohd Zaki (Modenas FortyOne Racing) failed to qualify for the final race after crashing out during the heat.

Azhar completed the 10-lap race in a total time of 8:29.864s, followed by Adib with 8:30.118s while Ahmad Afif Amran (Modenas FortyOne Racing) came in third with the time of 8:30.234s.

The 17-year old rider is happy to end the season on a high note. He said "Even though, I could not defend my title but I am glad to be able to maintain a 1-2 finish for my team. This is our record for the second year."

After an interesting 10 rounds, 2010 Wira Champion, Adib accumulated a total of 186 points, followed by Azhar with 158 points while Syawalludin maintains his third overall placing with 125 points.

In the one make races, Mohd Hafizuddin Azahar sealed the Honda icon Challenge title with style by bagging his fifth win for the season followed by Has Fauzan Hassan and How Mak Tian.

 The 15 years old completed the nine lap race with total time 8:30.902s while Fauzan timed 8:32.295s in second place and How Mak Tian third, 8:32.788s.

With this win, Hafizuddin extends his lead to 157 points followed by Fauzan (137 points) and Fakhrusy Syakirin Rostam third (126 points).

Meanwhile, Tengku Amirul Hafiruddin put an early end to the Yamaha 135LC title chase having won the leg at Padang Kota Lama.

The 14 years old completed the 10 lap race within 8:23.941s first place followed by Mohd Hafiza Rofa second with 8:24.168s. Third came in Nurahmad Fariznazreen with 8:26.005s.

Earning 25 points from this leg, Tengku proceeds to the Yamaha Asean Cup next weekend at Malacca with a 47 points advantage (161 points) over Mohd Razmal Mohd Rohizad (114 points) in second place while Nurahmad registers third with 102 points.

In the Privateers category, Abul Hafiz Abdul Majid riding a Modenas appeared Champion with 8:41.084s followed by Mohd Fhahmin Abdul Mutalib (8:42.334s) and Ahmad Asree Kamaruddin (8:46.484s) both on Yamaha makes respectively.

No comments:

Post a Comment