jokisenja header

jokisenja header

Thursday, February 17, 2011


2010 was a sweet year for Mohd Adib Rosley as he got the better of teammate, Mohd Azhar Abdul Jalil to win the Wira title. We review the defining moments from last season which saw the now 17 years old transform a slow start to a series of podium finishes before being crowned Champion.

Having finished second in 2009 losing to Azhar, Adib kicked off 2010 with high hopes it will be his but things turned out far more complicated than he had anticipated as he could only come in second best in the timed practice and heat behind Azhar in the kick off leg at Alor Setar, Kedah.

However, starting from second did not deter the Motul Yamaha YY Pang rider. Instead it gave him the motivation to push harder. In the final race, Adib stole the lead from poleman and led for seven laps before mechanical difficulties forced him to retire abruptly in the seventh lap. 

With Adib out of the race, the battle shifted focus on Azhar and Zulsyafiz. But luck ran out of the latter following a crash in lap 8. With his strongest rivals out for good, Azhar successfully secured his first chequered flag for the season followed by Mohd Syawalludin Mohd Zaki and Mohd Fitri Ashraf Razali second and third respectively.

Bad luck continues to haunt Adib at Kluang, Johor. Despite showing good form in the elements, he failed to realize his podium target following another DNF after two laps into the final race. 

Not just that, technical complications also affected Azhar's Yamaha that weekend towards the end of the race (lap 9). Closest contender, Fitri quickly capitalized on Azhar's trouble to win Round 2 and move top of the standings. Second came in Amirul Hafiq Mohd Azmi and Azhar third.

It was not until Round 3 Adib won his first chequered flag. It was an easy race for him as main contenders, Azhar was slapped with a disqualification after being found guilty of unsportsmanlike conduct forcing Fitri to crash while Hafiq failed to qualify for the final race. To come in second was Ahmad Afif Amran and Syawal.

Competition heats up at the Sepang International Circuit to where Adib was seen struggling fending off Hafiq. Fortunately, experience gave him an advantage over the latter who had only joined the Championship this year. The outcome saw Adib secure another win for the season while Hafiq came in second and Azhar third on the podium.

With two consecutive wins in hand, Adib proceeded to Kuala Terengganu with aims to score a hat-trick and got what he bargained for. A good team strategy with Azhar allowed the Motul Yamaha YY Pang duo to complete Round 5 with a 1-2 position on the podium followed by Fitri in third place. Not just that, this was also the point where Azhar stole the lead from Syawal while Adib moves up second in the overall standings.

While most would be content with a hat-trick, Adib craved for more. He went on to dominate the following two rounds in Teluk Intan, Perak and Malacca before dropping third in Pekan, Pahang. 

Determined to win the Championship, Adib quickly bounced back to his winning ways in the penultimate leg at the Sepang Circuit. It was a joyous occasion as another chequered flag allowed the 16 years old to rightfully claim the Wira title. Azhar on the other hand failed to complete the race following technical difficulties.

Come the grand finale at Padang Kota Lama, Penang, Adib who believes his success is due to great team work chose to help the latter ace the race. Both riders concluded the season with style on the podium with Azhar in first place while Adib second.

No comments:

Post a Comment